Donald "Copie" M. Hansen
Resided in Wilson, MI
Died June 17, 2017
View Messages

Donald M. “Copie” Hansen, 83, of Wilson, passed away Sunday, June 18, 2017, in Cedar Grove at Pinecrest Medical Facility in Powers.

He was born February 12, 1934, in Wilson, MI, son of George and Emma (Martin) Hansen. He was raised in Wilson and graduated from Bark River High School in 1952.

In November of 1952, Donald joined the Air Force as an airplane mechanic. He trained in San Antonio, TX for jet engine repair. In Japan, for the Korean War, he was a crew chief for the jet fighter bombers. Pilot Chuck Yeager, also known as the first man to break the sound barrier, was one of the pilots he attended to and had the opportunity to know and work with. Copie was awarded the Good Conduct Medal, United Nation Service Medal, National Defense Service Medal, Korean Service Medal and China Service Medal. He was Honorably Discharged from the Air Force Reserves in 1956.

On May 10, 1958, Donald married Belle Anderson (of Bark River) in Lansing, Michigan, where he was employed at Michigan State University as a power plant oiler. When they moved back to the U.P, Don was employed for 5 years at the Escanaba Power Plant.

For 11 years he owned and operated Don’s Mobil Gas Station and Cabins in Powers, Michigan. Copie sold his business and built a house on his father’s property on the bank of his beloved Cedar River in Wilson in 1978. He was employed as a truck driver for P & S Manufacturing, Cedar River Lumber Company and Wendrick Truss Company until his retirement in 2005.

He was a member of Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church in Powers.

Donald is survived by his wife, Belle, of Wilson; children, Janice Hansen (German Dacanay) of Bremerton, WA, Mary (John) Grzyb of Bark River, MI, Donna Hansen (Paul Radtke) of Crivitz, WI, and Rachel (James) Adkins, of Kansas City, MO; sister, Luella (Barry) Dahlberg of Wallace, MI; grandchildren, Stephanie Grzyb, of Escanaba, MI, Michael Bauer(Samantha), of Kansas City, MO, Bradley Grzyb, of Carney, MI, Jeremy Dacanay, of Honolulu, HI, Makena Adkins, Calissa Adkins and Jadon Adkins of Kansas City, MO; great grandchildren, Braylen Kleikamp, Madalin Kleikamp, Colten Quaghebeur, Hunter Bauer and Jake Grzyb; and several wonderful nephews, nieces and cousins.

In addition to his parents, Donald was preceded in death by his sister, Doris Brukardt on June 12, 2017.

Visitation will be held on Saturday, June 24, 2017 at the Crawford Funeral Chapel in Bark River from noon to 4 PM EDT. (3 PM CDT) The funeral service will follow at 5 PM EDT (4 PM CDT) at Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church in Powers with Pastor Ronald Zindler officiating.

Burial will be in Gardens of Rest Cemetery.

The Crawford Funeral Homes are assisting the Hansen family.


Leave a Message
Email:
Message:
Name:
City:
State: